Thoughts from the Author…

At this moment I lean back in memory and catch a hint of what I knew long ago when I was a small child living on a farm in rural Iowa. It is the melody of the cosmic dance playing in my soul since those early days, a song that has never stopped singing in me….

As I grew older,…eventually I made some startling discoveries — three of them — and they have changed my life forever. The first of these is the amazing revelation that I am made up of stardust, that every part and parcel of who I am materially was once a piece of a star shining in the heavens. The second discovery is that the air I breathe is the air that has circled the globe and been drawn in and out by people, creatures and vegetation in lands and seas far away. But the most astounding discovery that both awakened and affirmed my early childhood awareness is the fact that I am part of a vast and marvelous dance that goes on unceasingly at every moment in the most minute particles of the universe….

This book is about my experience of being with the cosmic dance, how I have fallen in love with Earth and how I have been enthralled with the mystery of Moon, Sun, and the Galaxies. It is a book about what I lhave learned from this great attraction to creation. My three discoveries have changed the way I look at everything and the way I relate to everyone. I see that I am not a separate entity, and never could be, because the tiny particles of my body are dancing, intermingling with the particles of life around me. It is not a matter of “them” and “me”, whether this be people, rocks, sea anemones, clouds, or rabbits on the run. Rather, it is a matter of “us….”

It is my hope that this book of reflections on the cosmic dance will be a source of soul-tending and planet-tending for you. May it draw you to fuller enjoyment and appreciation of the mystery of life and its inherent goodness in yourself and in all of creation.”

From the publisher…

Through powerful prose and poetry, Joyce Rupp makes it easy for us to experience our unity with each other and all of life. She calls us to live compassionately with each person and particle of creation. She challenges us to hear the pain of the planet and to care for the earth and all its inhabitants. Most of all, she draws us to fuller enjoyment and appreciation of life and its unbreakable goodness in ourselves and in everyone and everything around us.

Joyce Rupp invites us to deepen our relationship with all of creation. She encourages us to develop our compassion by deepening our communion with all that lives, including rocks! Through poetry, story, Scripture and even dance, she skillfully draws us to listen inwardly and acquire a deeper appreciation of these sacred dimensions.

Rupp compares the beauty of the dance of life within our complex cells to the world around us and beyond, including all imaginable galaxies stretching to infinity. As we realize how deeply we participate in the stream of life she confirms: “We are truly made of stardust. We breathe the air that circles the globe and can never be isolated. Each of us is part of the dancing energy that dwells in every living thing.”

As we reach out, we can befriend the stranger, examine more closely an extraordinary created thing or simply appreciate the beauty and spender in the world around us or within us. All is related and interdependent.

Joyce Rupp is well known for her work as a writer, a spiritual “midwife,” and retreat and conference speaker. She has led retreats throughout North America, as well as in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Joyce has a B.A. in English, a M.R.E. in Religious Education, and a M.A. in Transpersonal Psychology. She is a member of the Servites (Servants of Mary) community and a volunteer for Hospice. She currently resides in Des Moines, Iowa. A list of Joyce’s works can be found in the left column of this page. Click on the book title to find out more information about that title.

