Unsolved Mysteries – Life After Life – 1 of 2

Two near death experience stories: one of a child (Kristle Merzlock) and the other of Tom Sawyer. Part 1 of 2.

Featuring Drs Melvin Morse, Bruce Greyson and Raymond Moody.

Raymond Moody, Man Behind ‘Near-Death Experience’ Ponders The Afterlife


By Piet Levy
Religion News Service

(RNS) Raymond Moody has spent nearly 40 years looking forward, trying to understand what happens when people die. That pursuit led to the publication of “Life After Life” in 1975, a seminal collection that actually coined the term “near-death experience.”

But in his new memoir, “Paranormal: My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife,” the 67-year-old Moody instead looks back, reflecting on his fascination with death, the effect of his life’s work, and trying to figure out what it’s all meant.

One key revelation: despite his frustrations with some religious and New Age interpretations of his work, and the fact that he does not practice a religion, the psychologist and philosopher who grew up the son of an agnostic surgeon says he has “woken up to God.”

“From the very beginning (of my afterlife studies) I was hearing people with experiences, some of whom had not been religious and some of whom were, and whatever they had been before, afterward there seemed to be a sort of commonality, which is the understanding that yes, there is a God,” Moody said.

The Georgia-born Moody became obsessed with the afterlife not out of religious conviction, but as a philosophy student at the University of Virginia.

“I was reading Plato’s ‘The Republic’ at age 18 and I can’t account fully the electricity that had for me,” he said. The story of Ur, a warrior thought dead who awoke and described going to another world, impressed him deeply.

“I felt the question of the afterlife was the black hole of the personal universe: something for which substantial proof of existence had been offered but which had not yet been explored in the proper way by scientists and philosophers,” Moody writes in “Paranormal.” His fascination only deepened after befriending a psychiatrist at the university, George Ritchie, who had his own near-death experience, and even felt that his experience had given him at times a “direct line with God.”

Ritchie’s was the first of many near death stories Moody heard. He found some commonalities: an out-of-body experience, the sensation of traveling through a tunnel, communicating with dead relatives, encountering a bright light (thought by some to be Jesus, God or an angel), and when they came back, a sense that there was truth in all the great faiths.

In “Paranormal,” Moody writes that “Life After Life” was so successful — it sold more than 10 million copies — in part because it didn’t entertain a religious bias. “People no longer had to keep it in the closet or worry about people thinking they were crazy,” Moody said. “It gave us legitimate consolation.”

It also ignited an ongoing crusade among some religious people and New Agers who felt “Life After Life” was proof that an afterlife existed and wanted his public endorsement for their beliefs — something Moody has refused to do. In spite of all the stories he’s heard and research he’s done, he doesn’t see his body of work as definitive scientific evidence that life after death truly exists.

“Religion has co-opted his field of study, and they built fences around near-death experiences he doesn’t think should exist,” said Paul Perry, Moody’s friend and “Paranormal” co-author. “The same is true of New Agers. … It’s frustrating for Raymond to deal with who he considers fanatics.”

Nevertheless, Moody said he understands why people would take comfort in his research, and why they would associate his findings with God or their religious beliefs. Moody himself frequently speaks to religious and New Age groups.

“Raymond will speak at any place he is asked to speak. It’s part of how he makes his living,” Perry said. “There’s no place for a guy to get the word out other than New Age functions and religious functions. Science doesn’t totally recognize near-death studies. … But generally when he talks at New Age functions and churches, he’s right up front about how he feels about religion and New Age philosophy, and he’s going to tell people what he thinks.”

The events around “Life After Life” occur about halfway through “Paranormal.” Moody’s memoirs also touch on his other interests of studies, like using hypnotherapy to revisit past lives, and constructing a chamber dubbed a “psychomanteum” at his home in Alabama, where patients have used crystal gazing in a bid to communicate with deceased loved ones.

These sorts of eccentric studies no doubt invite scrutiny — Moody reveals in the book that his own father had him committed to a mental hospital after Moody shared stories of his psychomanteum. He also details his own near-death experience in “Paranormal” when he attempted suicide in 1991; Moody was suffering from an undiagnosed thyroid condition at the time which, he said, affected his mental state.

But Moody said “he is too old for secrets,” and in “Paranormal,” he argues that the suicide attempt made him more honest about himself and his work.

“Without it, I would lack that dimension that is not present in many doctors, the one that goes beyond knowledge and into the realm of actually being a patient,” he writes.

“I don’t care what other people think,” Moody said of “Paranormal.” “Putting it together brought back so many memories. It was a sobering and delicious experience.”

Life After Life – Raymond Moody
57:01 – 4 years ago
Near Death Experiences

David Icke-The Global Spiritual Awakening Of Humanity (Full Length)

In an exclusive interview for Prison Planet.tv members filmed in Phoenix Arizona, lecturer and author David Icke explains how the panic-stricken elite are desperate to put the lid back on a global awakening that is stalling their agenda for world domination. Icke details how the irresistible force, the mass of humanity awakening to the global agenda, is coming face to face with what thinks it is the immovable object, the new world order.

Icke explains how drugs, toxic food and electromagnetic pollution are all being ramped up in a last ditch effort to dumb humanity down to a sheep-like mentality so they can be more easily controlled.

The biggest headache for the global elite is the fact that they are vastly outnumbered by humanity and thus are finding it more and more difficult to control populations, which is why they are pursuing genocidal measures of population reduction by attacking our immune systems via food, vaccines and other biochemical attacks, explains Icke, labeling “ludicrous” the fact that infants are being injected with no less than 25 different vaccines before they reach the age of two.

Icke also recalls his 1997 meeting with a CIA agent during which he was told that microchips had been developed that were so small, they could be injected through a hypodermic needle, and that this was planned to be implemented via mass vaccination programs.

Icke slams the swine flu scare as a complete scam, proven by the fact that patents for the vaccine were applied for even before the virus was discovered

Icke highlights how not only are large numbers of people waking up than ever before, but they are doing so at a staggeringly fast rate, expanding their horizons and realizing that they can rise above the confines of the prison planet and truly become spiritually free.

Icke predicts that 2016 marks the watershed date whereby the new world order will come crashing down, submerged under the wave of an empowered and enlightened humanity.

Paranormal My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife By Raymond Moody, Paul Perry

The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”

Book Description

From the bestselling author of Life After Life and pioneer researcher and leading authority on near-death experiences comes Paranormal, an intimate look at a lifetime spent fearlessly wrestling with humankind’s most important and perplexing question:

What happens when we die?

Paranormal begins with a harrowing account of Moody’s suicide attempt—due to an undiagnosed illness that led him into depression—and proceeds to explore his lifelong fascination with life beyond our bodies. Moody traces the roots of his obsession with the point of death and how, at age twenty-three, he launched the entirely new medical field of near-death studies. He went on to explore the world of past lives and possible reincarnation before stumbling into the fascinating realm of facilitated visions. Moody’s rural research center, Theater of the Mind, dramatically advances paranormal research by melding ancient and modern techniques to arouse many of the transformative elements of the near-death experience in people who are still living.

After more than four decades of studying death and the possibility of an afterlife, Moody still sees endless promise in the fringes of psychological sciences, where he continues to seek answers to what happens to our souls after death.

Dr. Raymond Moody and his co-author Paul Perry discuss shared death experiences, the subject of their latest book, GLIMPSES OF ETERNITY.

Paranormal by Raymond Moody and Paul Perry

%d bloggers like this: