nirgun john – Buddha at the Gas Pump Interview


nirgun john was born John M. Grenafege. The name “nirgun”, means ‘without attributes’, and was given to John by his students.

John began his spiritual search at age 16 after he was given the book “Be Here Now” by his older brother. At age 19, he spent a brief period with Transcendental Meditation (TM). In the following years, he learned many other meditation techniques from various teachers. John later took a monthly correspondence course from Siddha Yoga. As Muktananda had passed, John was initiated by Gurumayi, whom he still loves and honors as his Guru.

This initiation gave his practice a new momentum, and shortly afterwards he discovered the teachings of Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj, whom he also considers his Guru. Following his Awakening, nirgun john spent four years in silent meditation until Realization. A small group of friends then convinced him to start holding public Satsangs.

nirgun john does not affiliate himself with any particular group or religion, but instead he transmits spontaneously to anyone open to receive.

nirgun currently lives in San Francisco, where he has formed ‘A Bridge to Awareness’. nirgun john welcomes online and personal meetings with all spiritual seekers. All are welcome to attend the free online Satsangs he offers through the ‘A Bridge to Awareness’ website.

“My deepest wish is for you to realize the Truth of your Being. Know that the search
and the one who searches are imaginary.
When the mind is still, you are on the threshold. Abide there until The Only
reveals and the imaginary evaporates.”
nirgun john

Book: Sitting at the Open Door of the Heart

Tara Talks: 1. Trusting our Awakening – Tara Brach 2. Awakening Through Conflict


Published on May 3, 2016

Tara Talks: Trusting our Awakening – Tara Brach

It can take many rounds of arriving in presence to fully trust the vastness and mystery and beauty of our true nature.

Awakening Through Conflict – Tara Brach

As long as we are identified as separate selves, we will inevitably experience conflict with others. If we learn to release blame and deepen attention to our embodied experience, conflict can become a portal for more loving, alive relationships and awakening into the fullness of our being.

Who Am I? The Sacred Quest By: Jean Klein

In his well known, clear and lucid style, Jean Klein offers a book that is fundamentally about ourselves, about our own reality, and how we can start to realise our true nature, our inner stillness and wholeness.

Unique among Jean Klein’s works, the dialogues contained in this book have been organised by subject. Topics include: Relationship; The Nature of Thinking; The Art of Listening; A conversation on Art, etc.

Questioner: “In certain situations in life I feel blocked by a fear which prevents me from acting. How can I be free from this obstacle?”

Jean Klein: “First free yourself from the word, the concept, “fear.” It is loaded with memory. Face only the perception. Accept the sensation completely. When the personality who judges and controls is completely absent, when there is no longera psychological relationship with the sensation, it is really welcomed and unfolds. Only in welcoming without a welcomer can ther be real transformation.

“We are in essence one with all existence; when we truly observe ourselves there is ultimately no observer, only observation–awareness.”

Jean Klein, master of Advaita Vedanta in the tradition of Ramana Maharshi and Atmananda Krishna Menon and author of many books on non-dualism, spent several years in India going deeply into the subjects of Advaita and Yoga. In 1955 the truth of non-dualism became a living reality. From 1960 he taught in Europe and later in the United States.

LOOK INSIDE

Jean Klein – The Flame of Being

Michael Toms’ interview of Jean Klein is a profound and meditative exchange that reveals the real nature of being: silence, space and listening.

Michael Toms’ thoughtful questions encourage Dr. Klein to go deeper into the fundamental issues that confront anyone searching for the truth: the real meaning of freedom, the thinking process, silence versus the quiet mind, welcoming the essence of our being, the relationship between teacher and student, death and how to assist someone who is dying.

%d bloggers like this: