Archive for September 5, 2017



We are all on a spiritual journey. For everybody, this journey starts with birth and ends with death. Our life is a link between our date of birth and date of death. The book of our life stretches between the two end points, and this book is the chronicle of our wanderings. We have recognized that we are suffering, we are suffocated in the swamp of the multitude of beliefs and ideas, and this recognition spurs us to embark on a Journey to discover ourselves. Understanding all this is the beginning of the real JOURNEY along the road. Based on the book The Awakening of Consciousness by Frank M. Wanderer

Change and anger are in the air. Looking for answers to today’s wrenching challenges, William Martin turns to the Tao Te Ching and finds that while Taoism is known for its quiet, enigmatic wisdom, the Tao can also have the cleansing force of a rushing river.

Through his interpretation of this ancient Chinese text, Martin elucidates revolutionary messages condemning power-seeking and greed. He emphasizes that humans have a “natural virtue” that can help them heal the planet; shows how Taoism’s simplicity can be subversive and its flexibility a potent force; and reassures that “when injustice is the rule, justice always lies in wait.”

Provocative and stirring, Martin’s Tao flows within and through those who ride the waves of anger and frustration and gently guides them to true freedom.

“We have learned the secret of transformation: Injustice feeds our determination. Hate increases our love. Wounds bring forth our healing, and fear uncovers our courage and serenity.”
— from The Activist’s Tao Te Ching

Biography
I have taken a winding road that has led me straight to the present moment. I have, over the years, worn the labels of, “Christian, Buddhist, and Taoist.” I have followed careers called, “Scientist, Minister, Therapist, Writer, and Painter.”

I have two children by my first marriage. Lara and John are delightful people and bring me much joy. I have three grandchildren, Jillian, Andrew, and newly arrived Emma – all of whom likewise delight me. I have been married to Nancy for 27 years now and she is the mate of my heart and I cherish my life with her. Nancy and I now live in the mountains of Northern California, near the sacred Mount Shasta. We are deeply grateful to that dear Mountain for allowing us to live at her feet.

I write these words at the age of 72 years and I sense that I am in the most creative, generative, and in many ways, powerful time of my life. I write, publish, paint, drum, dance, walk in the forests, and celebrate my life.

All of my books, both print and electronic editions, are available at Amazon and other booksellers. I hope you enjoy them. My personal website is http://www.williamcecilmartin.org and my blog site is http://www.taoistliving.com

View Here

Interpreting the Tao Te Ching with William Martin

The Activist’s Tao Te Ching

William Martin is an award-winning author whose work expresses the practical wisdom and inspiration of Taoist thought for contemporary readers. A native of California, Bill graduated from the University of California at Berkeley with a degree in Electronic Engineering. After four years working for the Navy as a research scientist, he returned to graduate school. He earned a Masters degree from Western Theological Seminary in Holland, Michigan. He did not find himself fitting within the Christian Church clergy structure so, guided by his love of the Tao Te Ching, he began to seek his own way. He spent two decades in private practice as a Marriage and Family Counselor in Phoenix, Arizona, and taught counseling for many years at Rio Salado College in Phoenix. He has been a student of the Tao for four decades. In 1998 he and his wife Nancy, decided to simplify their lives so they sold most of their possessions, left their careers, gathered their remaining belongings into a 5X8 foot U-Hall trailer and moved to the Oregon coast. Nancy worked at a small Inn and Bill wrote a book. In 1999, after a year of strolling along the beaches, walking through the forests, and feeling the intense joy of the natural world, they moved to the mountains of Northern California. They live a somewhat private existence, connecting with their close friends and with their individual work. They walk, read, enjoy qigong and cherish their life together. Nancy is a traditional bookbinder, restoring old books and creating hand-bound editions of new ones (www.nwbookbinding.com). Bill continues to write and paint in the Taoist tradition. http://www.taoistliving.com/

